Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Crown Chakra Yoga Sequence: 5 Poses To Connect To The Higher Consciousness

Crown Chakra Yoga Sequence: 5 Poses To Connect To The Higher Consciousness

Yoga is essentially a practice for your soul, working through the medium of your body.
-Tara Frasier

The Sahasrara encourages clarity and awakening through balance of the Shiva and Shakti (masculine and feminine sides), the spiritual and physical, the internal and external worlds. For this reason, all chakras tend to come together in relation to the Crown chakra. This is why an imbalance in the Crown chakra can affect us even more than another blockage might. In tgis blogpost, we’ll take a look at the yoga sequence that can correct any imbalances in the chakra system.

The crown chakra is the 7th and final of the chakras. It is also called the Sahasrara (Thousand-Petaled Lotus), the Shunnya (Void, Emptiness), and the Niralambapuri (Place Without Support). A true connection with the Crown chakra is a true connection with pure wisdom and with the whole universe.

5 Yoga Poses To Connect With the Higher Consciousness

Padmasana or Lotus Pose

Yoga pose
Photographer: Mor Shani | Source: Unsplash

Lotus Yoga Pose is one of the poses that often comes to mind first when people imagine yoga. Place a foot on each thigh and keep the posture erect but not taut. Make sure not to strain your muscles; if you are not yet flexible enough for Full Lotus, variations such as Half Lotus exist.

Lotus is traditionally a good preparation for deep meditation and is ideal for awakening. Close your eyes, relax your face, and concentrace calmly on the Crown chakra and on the Third Eye.

Sirsasana or Headstand Yoga Pose

yoga pose
Photographer: Timon Studler | Source: UnsplashPhotographer: Timon Studler | Source: Unsplash

One of the best yoga positions for the Crown chakra, the Headstand is also one of the hardest. A proper supported headstand involves balancing the body’s weight and developing strong core muscles.

Hold the pose for five full breaths, or more if you are comfortable doing so. Focus on smooth and regular breathing, and appreciate the balance that allows you to hold this pose while easing into your breath.

Savasana or Corpse Pose

yoga pose
Photo by Cliff Booth from Pexels

Corpse Yoga Pose appears at first to be the simplest of all positions, and almost seems as though it should not count as yoga. But remember the intricacies of the universe, the chakras, and the body, and realize that the simplest things can be the most complex.

In the words of yoga master Bellur Krishnamachar Sundararaja Iyengar, “It is much harder to keep the mind still than the body. Therefore, this apparently easy posture is one of the most difficult to master.”

Practicing Corpse Pose hones detachment from expectation, judgments, and trivial attachments, allowing a more natural connection with the universe.

Vrikshasana or Tree Yoga Pose

Photographer: Kaylee Garrett | Source: UnsplashPhotographer: Kaylee Garrett | Source: Unsplash

Tree Yoga Pose is a simple but highly effective position for channeling the energy of the Crown chakra. Balance on one foot with the other braced against the thigh, and gently press your hands together in front of you.

Tree Pose allows your energy to travel from your roots to the crown of your head, aligning all of the chakras and encouraging balance and rejuvenation.

Makarasana or Crocodile Pose

Source VeryWell Fit

Ideally, while in Crocodile yoga pose, you will relax your entire body, reducing stress and tension and clearing the mind. With each breath, relax your body more and more, again focusing on the simple interconnectedness of your entire body, as with the universe.


Working toward enlightenment may seem daunting, unrealistic, or completely beyond the scope of your radar. But regardless of whether you practice yoga to stay fit and healthy or to work toward complete liberation, do not miss the opportunity to notice those enlightened moments that can come through a regular practice of insight and positive action.

An enlightened moment can spring forth at any time, let this practice open you to the possibility and prime you to witness those moments of grace sprinkled throughout your day.

This practice is meant to integrate right and left, masculine and feminine, surya and chandra, ida and pingala (energetic channels that link into and through the main channel called sushumna), and your entire being from head to toe. Use this integration to experience a vast connection between your innermost self and all things.


Your email address will not be published.


Share On :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter